Sniper Scopes

jtischauser

I'm addicted to kicking ass
What do you guys use? I am thinking my 4x Accupoint is too low for Sniper work past about 200. I can play 3 gun with it just fine but I want to cross the T's and dot the I's with my yet to be bought sniper rifle.

How much maginifcation do I need to make accurate head shots at 500 and reliable body shots at 1000?

Wormydog1724

ATAS Ninja
Im not an expert in this area but I did have a 6.5-20 leupold vx3 on my browning .223 wssm. I could make hits at 200 very easily. Shot a doe at 423 yards. Aimed at her head and hit her in the vitals. Lucky shot but it worked.

I'd say that would be a pretty good scope. I want a long range .308 and have been looking at the big power accupoint. I think it's 5-20 or something.

jtischauser

I'm addicted to kicking ass
[quote author=Wormydog1724 link=topic=62.msg453#msg453 date=1284862167]
I'm not an expert in this area but I did have a 6.5-20 Leupold vx3 on my browning .223 wssm. I could make hits at 200 very easily. Shot a doe at 423 yards. Aimed at her head and hit her in the vitals. Lucky shot but it worked.

I'd say that would be a pretty good scope. I want a long range .308 and have been looking at the big power accupoint. I think it's 5-20 or something.
[/quote]

I need a good 308 as well. I need to get into research mode to find out if an AR10 could work or if I am going to need a high $ bolt gun. I would really like to shoot HM 3 gun with the AR10 but I would like to cross train with some Sniper match's too. I am sure there is no good tweener there and I will need one of each as usual.

Dubs Chops

Well-Known Fanatic
this is my idea of the best in between rifle

http://www.springfield-armory.com/armory.php?model=14

Wormydog1724

ATAS Ninja
My brother has the armalite ar10. It's a heavy sob.

Jesse, you need to look at LaRue's OBR. or the SR25.

Dubs Chops

Well-Known Fanatic