Any interest in an 2 gun match? Pistol/Rifle

ltrain7281

Well-Known Fanatic
Hello everyone,

I want to first thank you to all the moderators and staff that started and run this sight. Thank you all for making this a great site for people like myself to ask questions and get honest feedback from actual shooters. Over the last several years I have got to meet a great deal of you guys and realize that most of you take your shooting very serious which is why I always like to put these topics on BoomerShooter and get your guys opinions.

Something I have been thinking about lately and am wanting to start up at OFGC is a new outlaw match that will use just a pistol and rifle, a 2 gun match. Now I will tell you why I wanted to start this match, I have been shooting USPSA matches now for 4 years and since then I watched the 3gun and multigun matches at our club on tv and on youtube. These look to be extremely fun but over the last two years I have heard a lot of complaints from different shooters of all skill levels about these matches. Several of the most common complaints are: Shotguns and all the gear associated with this gun, scoring or the lack of accuracy, all the running that a lot of the matches are incorporating into their stages, and last but not least is the complexity of the stages that require you load your shotguns with different ammo (slugs, buckshot, birdshot) and engage targets that require that particular ammo.

Now I do not want to get a turd storm started between the 3gun crowd and the USPSA crowd. What I want is a good discussion between both sides about what type of rules/regs, and stages you would like to see in just a two match.

I brought this topic up this past week at our monthly practical pistol meeting as I wanted to hear what some of our seasoned shooters would like to see. Here is some of the points that they made that they would like to see in a 2 gun match. These are in no particular order.