What should I practice before first 3 gun match?

Rockon71385

Founding Member
Going to try my hand at 3 gun next month. Most of you guys know I've shot a fair amount of pistol, but I have no experience with shotgun or rifle matches. Is there anything you would recommend practicing before my first match? If I am taking someone to their first pistol match, I'll probably teach them grip, stance, draw, and reload techniques just so they don't feel completely unprepared. What should I be practicing? I'm guessing shotgun reloads, maybe mounting the rifle and shotgun and some transition drills. Is there any else, or anything that trumps those?

Thanks.

runawaygun762

Well-Known Fanatic
From the lessons I've learned, some things do take priority. Shotgun loading for sure, as that make s a big difference between competitors. Depending on the proclivities of the stage designer and depending on what rifle you're using, remember your sight/boreline offset in case there are close rifle paper with no shoots or hardcover overlayed or painted on. Overall, shotgun reloading and transition seems to be the things that separates people, because misses with rifle and pistol can be made up quickly, while a miss or two with a shotgun may require an extra reload somewhere.

It also can't hurt to practice mounting and abandoning guns, as one little misstep like leaving the safety off when abandoning the gun can cause a bit of irritation. Just as I'm sure you tell new shooters at a pistol match, don't worry about being fast. Be accurate and safe and you'll do well.

Rockon71385

Founding Member
Could you elaborate on abandoning guns? They usually go into those barrels right? Is there a specific way of doing it?

gng4life

Active Fanatic