Open carry...again

68camaro

New Fanatic
I see this has been covered more than a few times but times are rapidly changing and so do people's opinions.

I am NOT an advocate of open carry and maybe I can change a mind or two with this. For a little credibility, I am a Gulf War vet and had a total of 32 years in law enforcement. I'm a retired police chief and throughout my career was K9, SWAT sniper and point man, and firearms instructor.

I'll start with a question: Why do you feel the need to display a weapon? To show you can - to display your constitutional rights - to be a deterrent?

My argument is that you're simply making yourself a target! Do I open carry at times? Absolutely. But only when on my property (I live rurally) or among friends in the right place. I do believe it's our constitutional right to carry and I couldn't be more conservative, but the point is protection, not to be a billboard. Dealing with criminals for a career I got to speak with more than a few over the decades. I specifically asked (most were your run-of-the-mill people who just screwed up - but there are always a few who are way, way, off-center) I can assure you criminals like to see guns on people because they know it's there. Some say it's a deterrent but most say you're a target. You are now their center of attention and if someone has ill intentions they will either shoot you first or try to physically take you down first. Say something happens and you are not required to draw and/or shoot. You will have people who point you out and say you should have or should not have done something. Trust me, even if you do everything right you will become the center of SOMETHING whether it is right or wrong and whether you like it or not. At a minimum, you will most likely get caught up in social media hell, the news, and potentially some type of civil litigation.