Dominant eye issues

zombiegirl

Well-Known Fanatic
So I figured out today that my dominant eye (right) switches. When I was at the range this morning I was shooting differently than normal so we tested my eyes, found out my left was dominant today, got home and retested and now it's back to my right!!! Geez!! Any suggestions?? I did t realize they could switch like that!

jtischauser

I'm addicted to kicking ass
Dual dominance! That's what we all wish we had. I'm not an expert but cross dominance is what Kurt Miller has and he is no slouch in the shooting arena.

Do you shoot both eyes open?

When you shoot strong hand do you use your string hand side eye?

When you shoot Weakhand do you switch and use your Weakhand side eye?

poopgiggle

B Class Nobody
My brother is cross-dominant. For clay shooting, we would put a piece of scotch tape on his glasses so it blocked his left eye from seeing the bead. It forces his brain to switch dominance to the right eye.

I'm not sure if a similar method would work for pistol or rifle shooting.

StealthESW

Well-Known Fanatic
Your dominate eye can change due to fatigue or vision deterioration in that eye. The stronger eye will become dominate. You could try using a patch over the eye you want to not be dominate. Also, age can be a factor in the future. Age also can contribute to eye dominance.

Actually, this issue is more common than one would think. :D

Jason1

Well-Known Fanatic
This is something I need to work on. I still have to close my left eye when i shoot.

hermnrob

Well-Known Fanatic