Sig Pistols

Mitch Rapp

Well-Known Fanatic
Seems like Sigs (at least the P series) are kind of a niche gun. A lot of departments and military get them issued, (and I understand that doesn't necessarily mean anything) but you don't see them in competition, and only rarely see them being carried as CCWs. I have been carrying a Sig 2022 for a couple of months now, and really like it. My first semi auto was a Sig Pro, and I had a Sig 228 for a little while. I never liked the DA/SA setup, but now that I have done a ton of dry practice, and since I ride the reset when I shoot, it's not as big of a deal as it used to be.

Just wondering what peoples thoughts on the Sigs is, and if you guys who shoot a lot more than I do see them much in competition. My only real complaint with my Sig is that I can't disassemble the slide like I can with other pistols. That may not be a big deal, but it does annoy me a bit.

poopgiggle

B Class Nobody
I think a while back my answer would have been "because they're DA/SA" but the recent popularity of CZs and Tanfos seems to contradict that little bit of Internet Gun Forum Wisdom.

I agree that cost is a big concern. Compare the cost of a new, box-stock SIG to the cost of a new, box-stock SP-01. Now how much is that SIG going to cost when it's been raced out?

SIGs are less popular with law enforcement because of cost and because they lacked Glock's marketing ability. If SIG had paid for their customers to bang strippers at the Gold Club I'm sure we'd see more of them in cops' holsters.

My personal gripe with SIGs is that I can't shoot them without my thumb holding down the slide release.

E: Just saw this

My only real complaint with my Sig is that I can't disassemble the slide like I can with other pistols.