Questions about gear for shooting Single Stack

DD78

Well-Known Fanatic
I started shooting in USPSA and 3 gun earlier this year and am having a blast!

Initially I only started shooting USPSA because I wasn't overly pleased with my pistol accuracy or speed, but now that I've started shooting it regularly, I'm really enjoying it, especially since I see myself improving pretty quickly, much more quickly than I would have thought.

Currently I use my 3 gun rig for shooting USPSA and have been shooting limited minor. It's great to really become familiar with my gun and shoot it a ton, but want to make the switch over to Single Stack major next year.

As far as the gun goes, I have that covered so I don't have questions about that, but for the other gear, I'm definitely needing some guidance.

Holster: more than likely going to get the DOH blade tech since that's what I've been using.

Belt: probably a double alpha belt.

Mag pouches: I'd like to go bullet nose out, but am wondering what everyone else uses. The reason I'm thinking about bullet nose out pouches is because I just don't have the real estate on my belt and really don't want to be reaching all the way to the small of my back to grab a mag.

Mags: I currently have 4 Wilson Combat 47DE mags, and will definitely need more. The question is how many more will I need? Should I get 6 more? I know this is a pretty subjective question, but all of this is going to be expensive so I want enough to last me a couple of stages. Reloading 8 rounds into mags is a hell of a lot easier than 22 rounds lol.

In a nutshell, which mag pouches should I be looking at, which ones do people prefer, and how many mags would be a good number to start out with?

Thanks in advance everyone, as always I really appreciate any advice.

DD78

Well-Known Fanatic
technetium-99m said:
Unless the holster rules have changed you need the frontstrap above the top of the belt, so no DOH.

I use CR speed pouches with delrin spacers for SS mags.