MD's - I have questions about long range steel

baker3gun

New Fanatic
I'm new to stage design.

I have some dimensional questions about long range steel. We have assorted gong sizes and can place them anywhere out to 500 yds.

Example A (fast rifle) - the stage ends with the shooter grabbing a rifle from a dump box to engage some 10yd paper and then transition immediately to 200yd steel plates that are large enough to entice some shooters to shoot offhand rather than take the time to run over to a rest or drop onto a prone carpet.

Example B (slow rifle) - the stage ends with the shooter grabbing a rifle and dropping prone to engage 400yd steel plates that are small enough that almost no one would attempt to shoot them offhand.

If a plate is 24"x24" square, it is 12moa side-to-side at 200yds, 8moa at 300yds, 6moa at 400yds, and 5moa at 500yds.

My basic questions for experienced MD's and shooters:

1 - Is there an moa threshold that generally distinguishes between fast and slow rifle for most shooters? "generally".

2 - In a match, does anyone ever engage a 6minnit 400yd steel gong offhand?
(My thinking: On the one hand, it's 24 inches huge! On the other hand, it's 400 yards.)

3 - What is a "good" average moa size for 100yd 3-gun steel?

4 - In the 3-gun world, assuming a typical assortment of shooters and a stage designer who wants to balance "challenge" with "fun", how small is too small for a steel sniper target at 400 yards?

Thanks!

jtischauser

I'm addicted to kicking ass
I want wouldn't choose to shoot anything past 50 yards without support unless there was serious upside to doing so.

jtischauser

8-10" plates at 50 yards aren't easy. Translate that to 400 yards and you'll need to be shooting at a house to be fun.

runawaygun762

Well-Known Fanatic