Keepers Concealment AIWB holster | REVIEW

Burk Cornelius

Regular guy
Background: I have been carrying Appendix inside the Waistband (AIWB) for several years now with various types of holsters; some better than others. If you have never carried AIWB and want to try it, you might think the Keeper Concealment holster is too thick, too bulky, and too expensive. If you have carried AIWB before, you will find this holster to be perfect for the application. So, that being said, if you are wanting to try AIWB carry for the first time, either do like the rest of us have done and spend hundreds of dollars trying various holsters, or take advice from people who have already done that and buy a Keepers Concealment holster.

First Glance: When you first see the holster, you will notice that it looks different than a lot of holsters. There are a couple of main things different about this holster than your ”typical” holster. AIWB is all about leverage. Getting the slide and the grip tilted into your abdomen and side. Two things you will notice different about the Keepers holster. One, the kydex body is not form fitted flat against the gun. Most holsters are form fitted as closely to the gun as possible to reduce the thickness of the holster. Spencer has designed the outboard side of the holster to not be pressed right up against the gun, but instead there is a slight gap (wedge) near the trigger guard with only a lip touching the slide which creates leverage against the gun to press it against your body. The second thing different is the holster comes with foam wedges (2 different sizes) that can be applied (via Velcro) at the bottom end of the holster between it and your body (groin area) to further push the grip into your body. If you have carried AIWB with other holsters you will understand the concept of leverage. If you have not, take my word for it, you need it