Is switching from a G35 to a G34 worth it?

jhenke

Well-Known Fanatic
I have been shooting local club matches for about 2 years now. I run a Glock 35 in Limited 10 (I live in NY). Would the 34 be a better choice at this point? I'm very comfortable with that frame. Is the lighter recoil worth the change or would the major/minor scoring negate any benefits?

gng4life

Active Fanatic
No, you can make some great Major loads that are close to the 9 Minor loads and the scoring differential is more favored with Major. Stay with Major and tune your loads. What do you shoot now?

jhenke

Well-Known Fanatic
I shoot factory loads now. I haven't started reloading yet. Maybe when I have more time to shoot more matches than my schedule allows, I can start.

Micah, I'm not getting your fail troll comment. I can only load 10 here on NY. So, with a 34 I could run production or L10. Not trolling, I was serious.

I'm pretty new and you gotta start somewhere.

technetium-99m

Mighty Righty
Lim 10 minor makes very little sense. At least with a 140mm magazine you get 3-4 more rounds with 9mm. It's a huge step backwards. Factory 40 in a 35 is just fine for limited or L10.

A 34 is a great production gun though, and the division is IMO a great concept.

35 for L10 and the 34 for production is really the best way to go.

jhenke

Well-Known Fanatic
Thanks technetium-99m. That was kinda where I going in a round about way. I'll probably just stick with L10. Not much of an option shooting in this state.

Rockon71385

Founding Member
gng4life said:
No, you can make some great Major loads that are close to the 9 Minor loads and the scoring differential is more favored with Major. Stay with Major and tune your loads. What do you shoot now?