IMSI springs

• Thread starter DurningDefenseCustoms
  • Start date
D

DurningDefenseCustoms

anybody using them? feedback?

I am a Wolfe guy, but intrested to know how the C/S compound works?

KurtM

Well-Known Fanatic
It is funny, but most high end 2011 builders recommend ISMI, while the single stack builders usually recommend Wolfe. Both are great spring, but and this is from personal experience, the ISMI magazine springs for double stack mags, and the ISMI shotgun tube springs all outlast the similar Wolfe offerings at least 3 to one. Chrome, Silicate steels are more resistant to plastic deformation but are a touch more brittle which is why it makes for a good spring material. So there it is, that is my take on it and I have been running their springs since 1998. so take it for what is worth....which is exactly what you paid for this info.

Wall

El Diablo
Staff member
I run ISMI recoil springs in all of my guns & have not had any problems. I can't really comment on a comparison like Kurt because I've never really paid attention. I do know that along with Kurt there are quite a few other knowledgable people that recommend them as well.

D

DurningDefenseCustoms

easy Kurt,

I am over it :scout: , and I never said you knew nothing, I respect your experiance and any knowlegde you have to share. But before it even gets started, thanks for info, I have done alot of reading on them, but never tested on them. as I understand it, its spring technology from machine guns, and indy cars, but I dont remember seeing them in the GAL-21's or 240 G'S.

KurtM

Well-Known Fanatic
ISMI bends springs for many different companies and don't put their name on them. You wont find a shotgun mag tube spring on their web site for instance, but if you know who they make them for you know it is an ISMI spring. Chromium silicate springs are very prevalent in the aviation community and with your background you have been using these type of springs for at least 4 years yourself.

D