I need help choosing between Factory and Practical please

ASH556

Active Fanatic
Hey guys, I'm really hoping to get some help from you experts. I started shooting a small club match 6 months ago. Then, this past weekend I shot the Atlanta 3gun match, which was more structured/official 3gn rules type match and was much more difficult/faster paced. I need to work some more on my shotgun loading and stage planning. However, I also learned some things about my gear and need to make a couple tweaks one way or the other.

Rifle: Everything at both the "outlaw" match and the 3gn match is 100yds or less. I have a lot of experience shooting AR15's with red dots in the "tactical" arena and am thus very comfortable with using one. I ran this weekend's match with a Leupold 1.5-5 and the 1.5 really slowed me down. Conversely, I only used magnification on one stage and even then only on 3X. I'm ditching the Leupold 1.5-5 for sure, but debating about whether to try to stay in Practical with a 1-X scope or drop down to Factory and run the Aimpoints I'm familiar with. I feel confident shooting the 100yd max at these matches with a red dot. My vision is excellent. Where I wonder is if/when I go shoot a major match. Also (and this might get a chuckle) I already have an SBR set up with an Aimpoint T1 and I can't get over the nagging feeling that if I'm going to have a longer gun, it should have more scope to make use of the extra length. At the same time, I really do love and have fun with the simplicity/speed of an Aimpoint. Magnified optics on AR's (I've tried Acogs, Aimpoint + magnifier, Eotech + magnifier, Bushnell PCL 1-4, Leupold 1.5-5) always end up frustrating me for the weight and speed penalties.