hog hunt

steak

Well-Known Fanatic
Alright guys, I have decided that this week while I am on vacation I am going to do something that I have always wanted to do. I am going hog hunting. I was hoping some of yall could give me a few tips or advice. I have to tell you that the only hunt I have ever been on was shooting dove so I am a complete novice when It comes to all this. My plan was just to get to canton lake about 5:30 thursday morning and try to find a place to start walking. Will Jeans and a camo shirt suffice? or do I need to get all gussied up and look the part. Also, I was just gonna bring the AR and a 357....will that be okay too? I keep hounding my brother in laws to go but they are more than wishy washy on all this. I keep reading that I need to walk the river but to be honest it has been 10 years since I have even fished canton much less walked the hunting grounds.

Oh yeah and if any one wants to join me to show me a few things you are more than welcome to join

Thanks,

Terrell

Eellis

Well-Known Fanatic
I think the river comes in on the north west side of the lake and it's probably just low enough to walk down with some rubber boots on . Go around the north side of the lake and just as you pass the lake there is a parking area park there walk straight south you'll run into the river and it should be pretty dry except for a few spots I've shot a couple out of there . Look for muddy rub marks around the trunks of trees and mud holes. Mmark your spot when you get in the river. then again it may not have any water therefor you won't have much luck.

dennishoddy

hunt the wind , their best defense is their nose..........
Yup!
they can't see well at all. I've stalked within 30 yds of them looking for an opening in the brush with the bow. Their hearing is pretty good too, and if they hear something like a limb snap, they are gone. No looking around, nothing, gone.

dennishoddy