Colt Government Special Combat input

Jrabbit771

Well-Known Fanatic
I scored a unfired, new in the box Colt Government Special Combat 1911 .45 ACP. I actually scored 2 of them. I couldn't pass them up due to the price. I could only bring one home with me, and paying on the other one.

The one I brought home has a Blued slide, and a Stain Nickel frame. The Target that came with it has a date of 2002 on it...So I'm guessing it's around a 10 year old gun. Model# 01980CM. It has the adjustable ROBAR rear sight. I will admit, I'm not very knowledgable with Colt firearms. I tend to follow SA 1911's more. But I've been researching Colts here lately...We all know how that goes....Typical Colt lobStill deciding if I should keep this or sell it and get a TRP....Or keep it and still get a TRP.

Any of you guys have any experience with the Government Special Combat? Any parts you recommend changing out? Just trying to get a little input or user experiences on this 1911..I have no experience with Colt. . (sorry I can't post a picture. I'm on my IPad) ...I can send some pics via text message if interested.)

Thanks

HI Jeremy,

Biggest questions, assuming its going to be a shooter; is the colt checkered, is the colt in a condition ergonomically to be able to pick it up and go shooting, and not annoy you in some way? Colts good stuff; their triggers arent set up super nice, but the bones are there,. A trp might be a quicker, easier path to shooting comfort and results. Also check the mainspring housing; it may be polymer/plastic,.
The trp is more likely to be set up ready to go, and is on the average, nominally more accurate, mechanical wise.

Jrabbit771

Well-Known Fanatic