challenge accepted

boatdoc

Well-Known Fanatic
now that I am back shooting regularly, I met a few members of a club I joined last year. great guys and amazing shooters( ask Pipewrench). One of the guys started in on me about shooting longer distances AND shooting with the shooting hand only.Most of these guys are bullseye shooters. They shoot one handed anyway. It seems natural to them.

I accept the challenge. It is new and exciting to me. I do shoot one handed (right and left on occasion just to be prepared( SD Mode) anway but I am not very good at it as I do not practice enough

I moved my targets out to 30-50 feet. I still shot 2 handed and did ok with 22lr and 9mm. I need to work with 45 acp after my hand heals some more(just a matter of a couple weeks).

NOW I will increase my single handed(right and left) shooting during each range session and cut down the 2 handed shooting at the same time. I am still limited to about 150 round per session while healing . biggest adjustment is that I am left eye dominant( barely --it is close) so shooting with my strong sid e hand(right) will require moving the arm/hand over as I do with 2 handed shooting. I plan on using the standard stance I have used for years . Not a traditional bullseye stance

I love shooting and this new challenge will really give me something to work on and look forward to in t he years to come. the benefits are endless. It should improve my trigger control.

how many of you folks shoot one handed regularly?

Last edited:

Fred_G

Well-Known Fanatic
Fanatic Family
I rarely shoot one handed. I usually shoot better with my support hand when I do. Certainly not a bad thing to practice. I do like shooting at around 30 feet, usually two handed.

boatdoc

Well-Known Fanatic
I rarely shoot one handed. I usually shoot better with my support hand when I do. Certainly not a bad thing to practice. I do like shooting at around 30 feet, usually two handed.