Anybody own a diesel vehicle?

HHB Guns

Well-Known Fanatic
You read it right...So I got the truck and I am in love. All the quotes are pouring in for the full wrap. I know the maintenance is a little more and so forth. Anybody have any tips for owning and driving a diesel. A customer told me yesterday that when I arrive at my destination I need to let the truck idle for about 5 minutes to let the turbo cool down before shutting it off. Then somebody told me to change the fuel filters every 5000 miles when I do the oil change. Anybody know the hype with Amsoil? not sure if I spelled it right but another customer sells it and says its good for 25,000 miles between oil changes...If anybody else has any diesel tips for me I'm open ears. I am new to this and want to do everything I can to keep this bad boy out of the shop...One thing is for sure. Everybody that gave me tips agreed that the #1 shop is performance Diesel on long point road. I thought about giving them a call and just introducing myself and asking a few questions but I'm sure they are busy and don't have time to do question and answer.

Schultz

Well-Known Fanatic
I take it there's no warranty left on it? The reason I ask is if you have problems Ford will void the warranty if performance parts are used. Letting it idle for a minute or two is good thing to do on a diesel it does help the turbo cool a little. IMO stay away from Amsoil I used it it a few years ago in a street engine lost several bearings because of it. I've worked on a few diesels in my time and I've learned your best bet is following the maintenance schedule in your owners manual. If you consider a chip research is key some will do more harm than good. I have heard good things about Bully Dog tuners and exhaust products tho, I have a friend that has the GT tuner, He does a lot of towing and says it helps performance wise. They are pricey tho. http://www.bullydog.com/index.php

mcdaniel

Well-Known Fanatic