Starting Budget?

Jonathan Waits

Well-Known Fanatic
So I want to get into backpacking or truck camping even, and I was wondering what would be a good starting budget for gear and what not? 2k per person? Or can one be outfitted for less?

Dustin Cantrell

Well-Known Fanatic
$2k?! Camping out of a vehicle can be very cheap. Backpacking gear might cost a bit more due to lightweight gear costing more. But, there is no reason to spend $2k on gear.

Jonathan Waits

Well-Known Fanatic
ah, well its just I see these packs for like 150 bucks, then the sleeping bags are like 100 bucks, etc, tents probably arent cheap either, I have watched a few "what to pack" videos etc, and it seems like they have over a thousand bucks worth of equipment just for themselves.

Dustin Cantrell

Well-Known Fanatic
$1k to start would probably be more reasonable. I'm not an expert. I think the type of backpacking you plan on doing should determine the gear you buy and therefore the associated cost. Backpacking here in OK would need different and probably less expensive gear than backpacking mountains in an arctic climate.

Ksmirk

Well-Known Fanatic
Since I got my RZR we have been kicking the idea of doing some camping just packing everything in the RZR's and go and I've been really confused about some things as to do I really NEED that? there are so many different ideas from different people and believe it or not there is not that much room in a RZR to pack stuff. I feel your pain. Later,

Kirk

scubor2

S.L.C.G.A.
If you are thinking about backpacking ask an Eagle Scout who has been to Philmont a few times. After a week or two at a time in the woods they can tell you what works and what doesn't.

dennishoddy

Back in the day, I was a wannabe mountain man in the flat lands of Oklahoma. Read every thing I could read about trapping, survival,etc.

you can camp/survive with nothing other than your skills if you have them.