Need advice on commercial reduced-power 38SPL practice ammo

michaelclm

Banned from the timer
My wife has decided that she wants a gun, some training, and a CCL. The gun is on its way, the training and CCL we can get from USSA. All she needs now is a load that she can shoot frequently enough from a 38 snubbie to become proficient and that will be affordable.

I wanted to see if any of the revo masters have any suggestions for commercial ammo for her to use in classes. I am not set up to reload 38 yet. Info from lady shooters is welcome, as well, obviously.

Thanks!

Burk Cornelius

Regular guy
Are you looking ammo for her to carry or practice? or both?

Federal started making a non +P NyClad HP (P38MA) that I have shot in my Model 36 and the recoil was really nice but not at the expense of performance

fedepicp38ma.jpg

Here is some info on the load http://www.federalpr...gun.aspx?id=828

Burk Cornelius

Regular guy
However, the one that I have been carrying for a couple years in my Model 642 is the Hornady Critical Defense. They make it in both standard pressure an +P at 110gr. It has an insert in the HP that prevents clogging by heavy materials (coats, etc).

Hornady Critical Defense

WSProdLG_hornady90310.jpg

michaelclm

Banned from the timer
Just practice ammo for the moment although advice on some carry ammo for her parcticular gun would certainly be welcome. She has a ported 642-2 Pro Series Smith coming.

aeropb

Well-Known Fanatic
The Standard pressure 110gr Hornady critical defense is pretty soft. I would practice with 148gr wadcutters

Jefpainthorse

Fill in the Blank
Then... Old fossils like who like 158 grain lead semi wad cutters (std pressure) from the snub guns

Out of a short barrel... It makes a good hole.. Expands a bit in many cases ... And it's controllable and light kicking.
Dongs keeps delta precision remanufactured on the shelf in Tulsa and its cheap.

Federal makes a jacketed semi wc that was a good performer too... Hard to find now days