I am blessed!!

HHB Guns

Well-Known Fanatic
So my oldest daughter came up from Savannah this weekend after hearing of the 5 deer we have killed this year. I have been trying to get her a deer for 6 years with no luck. We hunted hard this weekend. Starting friday until last night. Up every morning at 4 am. I have never used game calls until yesterday and boy oh boy let me tell you I am a believer for life now. I wont go into the woods without them again. Sat evening we had a 4 point come out beside us but before we could get the gun up he was gone. I swore then that there had to be something we could have done so I started researching. I got on several hunting forums and posted my problem and within minutes I has a solution. I need calls. At 1215AM my daughter and I went to walmart and bought every call they had. $125. We set out sunday morning and called and nothing happened. Thinking I had wasted money I was frustrated. We came home and I studied on youtube. Knowing I was doing it right we set up again at 4:30. Every 30 min I was using a grunt call, rattle bag, wheeze call , and bleet calls. At 6:15 Lily spotted her deer sitting at the edge of the woods looking right at us at 100 yards. He turned and went back into the woods....I hit all the calls and he came back. He was about to come out and investigate when a dove landed on the corn pile and spooked him so he bolted back into the woods. Thinking I had missed our chance I hit the calls hard. Using everything I had. About 30 seconds later he popped out of the woods in a full fledge run at 250 yards coming right down the power line toward us. Lily was ready. She was on the scope. I kept grunting at him and he picked up speed. HE got about 150 yards from us and stopped to look around. When he turned broadside like he was going to turn I told her to shoot and she did. He dropped like a sack of potatoes. I was so excited it brought tears. That was the best hunt I have ever been on. If I could have had it on video it