Help picking a scope

tigerfan00

Well-Known Fanatic
I'm thinking about picking up a 10/22 target and I wanna put some decent (read as not expensive but will do the job) glass on it

I've NEVER bought a scope before outside of the single Leupold I have on my S&W 629 and that one came with the gun

Any suggestions for a decent scope for not a lot of money for a 22 that will likely see more use than most of my other firearms?

bigfutz

Well-Known Fanatic
I'm a scope novice as well, but here's some shopping tips:
1. Never buy a scope you haven't looked through.
2. Rule 1 almost dictates that you can't buy anything that comes in a clam pack.
3. Eye relief (distance from eye to scope) is critical.
4. Don't get a higher power than is needed.

fordnut

Well-Known Fanatic
I have just bought 2 scopes for my 10/22's and I love them....

I hate to say it because of what bigfutz just posted...but, they were in a clam shell...

I bought a Simmons 4X32. It says for .22 mag. It came with the rings and everything. I just mounted on the 10/22 and just sighted it in at the range...

I was so impressed that when I got the 2nd 10/22...I went back and got one for it...

My Nephew and I have little shoot offs with them and neither wanted an advantage....

I got my scopes at Sports Authority. They were $40.00 plus tax...I love them...

Hope this helps.

Steve

bigfutz

Well-Known Fanatic
Actually the only reason I avoid the clam packs is that you don't know what you ate getting until you destroy the packaging. But if you have a good recommendation, it may be overruled. I know Simmons is considered cheap, but the one I had was a great scope, except it had too little eye relief for the 300WINMAG. But it did hold up and was very clear.

fordnut said:
I have just bought 2 scopes for my 10/22's and I love them....

I hate to say it because of what bigfutz just posted...but, they were in a clam shell...