Doing what I should have done 13 years ago..College Bound

HHB Guns

Well-Known Fanatic
Well I finally got my retirement orders cut. I will be officially retired Jan 27th. Been an awesome 13 years but time to close this chapter and move on. I have been debating the whole college scene for for the past two years now but now that I am classified as a 100% disabled vet I found out they will pay me $1300 a month and pay all of my tuition and books to any state college if I obligate 9 hours a semester so I am going to register in the morning. I plan to do morning and evening classes so it doesn't interfere with HHB. I am going to tech to start the 2 year mechanical engineering degree and then transfer over to USC to finish it up. What finally made my mind up was talking to a senior in the USC program who said the VP of FNH came to his class last month trying to recruit some of them to help design some new guns they are wanting to release. When I heard that I was all for it. My original plan was taking the 3 certificate programs in the machinist trade and then getting an associates in business and going into the class 3 manufacturing world but I am just not sold on that idea. That is a labor intensive job and with my back I don't know if I can hack it everyday.. Anybody on here a Mechanical or Civil Engineer?

So the bottom line is....If your good at math let me know cause I have picked the hardest math degree and I know I will have lots of questions cause math is not my strong skill. The only difference in high school to now is I actually want to learn it so I am hoping it will be different.

Dave29461

Well-Known Fanatic
Congratulations, Beau. You'll find that you have a greater desire and better self-discipline now that you have a little experience under your belt. I went back at 41 and it was the best move I've ever made. (except for marrying my wife. :D )

fordnut

Well-Known Fanatic
Hey Buddy...Good Luck with your furthering education.....