Could You Survive Alone?

Browtine

Well-Known Fanatic
what is your theory here?

First of all, I'm no expert, but I do have some experience in the backcountry where bad things can happen to people.

I'm a backpack elk hunter so my theories revolve around carrying your camp on your back which translates into a small and light kit. Most lower 48 rescues are going to happen within 3 days and the body can survive much, much longer without food. Plus, any prepared person should have an energy bar in their survival kit and hopefully a spare thrown into the bottom of their pack (including someone walking a half mile from truck to treestand). I know that I'm 1000 times more likely to die from dehydration or hypothermia than starvation so fishing tackle is just taking up room for more important things like fire starter or water purification tabs. Plus, there are many places, including my Colorado elk hunting area, where their isn't any fish. If you do feel the need for some protein, you can always chow down on some worms, grubs, bugs etc....

Just my opinion, doesn't make it right. Just be confident in your kit and remember what they told you when you were little. Always tell someone where you're going, when you'll be back and hug a tree if you get lost. It's much more comforting when you get turned around in black timber if you know you're lovely wife will be calling out the calvary if you don't call by 900pm on Wednesday! :) An unplanned night away from camp for the prepared is an inconvenience and somewhat uncomfortable. An unplanned night away for the ill prepared can get them into a crap load of trouble.

My mountain kit contains the following:

Lighter
Swiss fire steel
at least 3 different kinds of tinder and some long burning fire starter (Trioxane)
50' 550 cord
water purification tabs
large trash bag
1 energy bar
small headlamp
signal mirror