Can you keep a 1911 looking "GI"...

Mitch Rapp

Well-Known Fanatic
I may be getting a GI model 1911. I know that it is not cost effective to turn a GI gun into the equivalent of a high dollar 1911 and that's not what I am wanting. I want a gun that looks basically the same as it came from Springfield, but with a nice trigger pull and anything it might need to make it run better.

I know a decent amount about 1911s, historically. As far as what it takes to maintain and run them, I am a complete novice.

I am trading for a 1911 GI Champion. What I want is a solid carry gun that I can take to matches and not be disappointed with. I have been told the GI model guns are solid pistols, but would love to know what to expect, watch for, or plan to have worked on. If I get the gun, it already has better sights, they just need to be installed.

I'm a Glock guy...so use small words......

Wall

El Diablo
Staff member
My personal opinion is, for maximum reliability the ejection port needs to be lowered & flared & the barrel should be throated rather than just ramped, and quality mags are a must.

Mitch Rapp

Well-Known Fanatic
My personal opinion is, for maximum reliability the ejection port needs to be lowered & flared & the barrel should be throated rather than just ramped, and quality mags are a must.

Is throating something that can be done to a barrel, or is it something it has to have to begin with?

Are Kimber "Kimpro" mags good? or do I just need to plan on Wilsons?

drmitchgibson

The white Morgan Freeman
Throating a barrel involves expanding the ramped portion of the barrel and rounding edges into radii. Anyone can do it, not many can do it well.

dennishoddy

Is throating something that can be done to a barrel, or is it something it has to have to begin with?

Are Kimber "Kimpro" mags good? or do I just need to plan on Wilsons?
I have the Kimpro, and the Wilson Combat. Never had a problem with either.
I have some of the Tripp mags coming.