Work on vehicles

Ksmirk

Well-Known Fanatic
Well was headed to pick up some goodies to start loading some 40 and on the way the truck started acting funny and died! WTF, got it off the highway and thgought for a second, turned the key and no fuel pump noise grrrrr so pretty sure the fuel pump crapped out.

Anyone know anyone that is respectable and more reasonable than the dealership that can work on a 2003 1500HD? pretty sure it's the fuel pump but I'm no mechanic. Thanks fella's! Later,

Kirk

ocphy

Well-Known Fanatic
be sure to check the fuse for the fuel pump... I have had that happen before and felt dumb because I had already gone to get all the parts when my father mentioned checking the electrical side

crash217

Well-Known Fanatic
Has your fuel gauge been acting up? Those GM trucks are notorious for the fuel pump crapping the bed shortly after the guage stops being accurate. It isn't that big of a job even laying in a driveway. But its especially easier when you have a car lift and a trans jack.

Wall

El Diablo
Staff member
Has your fuel gauge been acting up? Those GM trucks are notorious for the fuel pump crapping the bed shortly after the guage stops being accurate. It isn't that big of a job even laying in a driveway. But its especially easier when you have a car lift and a trans jack.
I went through 3 fuel pumps in my silverado before I go a "good one".
It was easier to just pull the bed off than to drop the tank.

imacgyver

Founding Member
I just changed the oil, oil filter, air filter and cabin filter on my nissan - felt funny tonight. I need to check the oil level in the morning

Ksmirk

Well-Known Fanatic