Versatile Red Dot

Rockon71385

Founding Member
I'm looking for the red dot equivalent of a swiss army knife. My budget is about $250, so I'm not looking for anything fancy, and I realize that I'm not going to get premium quality for that price. I'm not looking to compete seriously with it, just to tinker a little bit and find out whether I like using an optic at all. I have a few different ideas for how I'd like to use it, and I'd like to get one optic that will do a decent job at all of them if possible. I have very little experience with red dots, so I'm hoping some of you guys can let me know what works for you.

Here's what I want to do:
  • Put it on my 10/22 for steel challenge
  • Put it on my Mark3 for steel challenge
  • Possibly a PCC for USPSA down the road a bit
  • Put it on a Glock for Carry Optic and possibly some hunting

I know one optic isn't going to be the best for all of these applications, but I'm looking for something that will get the job done at all of them if possible. What models do you guys like, and what's a good dot size for an all-around type of sight? So far, I'm looking at the Vortex Venom.

Rockon71385

Founding Member
What size dot? Is that a preference thing, or do people use smaller dots for certain applications and bigger ones for others?

foghorn918

Consistently Inconsistent
I just got the venom with a 6 moa dot. I like that access to the battery compartment is on top and you don't have to remove it to change the battery. I think it will be best for distances of steel challenge and uspsa. If you were shooting longer shots the 3 moa might be better. I also think the 6 moa will be quicker to find in the glass to get shooting.

The venom also comes with a picatinny mount too.

I'm planning to put it on a G17 MOS when it comes in, so for now I don't have any actual experience with the dot.

Scott Hearn

Well-Known Fanatic