South Dakota New Guy

Whit

Well-Known Fanatic
Fanatic Family
Hi from the Black Hills of South Dakota. New to this Forum, but have had 1911s for several years. Started with Baers, added a few NightHawks, and most recently acquired a Guncrafter. Look forward to learning more from the wealth of knowledge here.
Welcome from Northern Indiana enjoy the conversation.

I graduated in '79. I joined the Air Force with the purpose of buying a Harley. The economy was sucking and you couldn't get loans like u can today. I bought my first Harley (an XLCR Cafe Racer) in April of '80, then traded that in August for a 1980 FLHS. Fell in Love with the Black Hills and South Dakota. been here ever since.

joepistol

Well-Known Fanatic
I remember both the XLCR & the FLHS.. I believe the FLHS was a new model introd in 1980, I liked it & wished it had come out in '79....
I would have bought one. I liked the XLCR too, but learned it didn't have any great performance advantage over a regular Sportster, it was just dressed to look cool. My'79FXEF was too new for me to justify getting another new Harley so soon after buying mine.
I was still a starving student, living on the GI bill @ the time.

Exactly, that was the first year for it. It was 80". I had planned on getting an FXEF, till I walked in and saw that

joepistol

Well-Known Fanatic
" I had planned on getting an FXEF, till I walked in and saw that ",.. as I said, had an FLHS be available @ the time I bought my FXEF, I would've sprung for the FLHS too. I have a repop Wideglide front end I'd planned putting on my FXEF (bought it about 20 yrs. ago) sitting in my garage, along with a FLH fender (in the raw) and a FLH headlight nacelle (& tube covers).. I' m going to get around to installing ..someday.

My '79 is supposedly the last year they made 1200's (74") also 1st year with electronic ignition..mine lasted about 30 yrs.-
contrary to everyone that said I should remove it, & put a set of points in it.

Mike A1

Well-Known Fanatic