Magwell for 5.25 XDM 9mm

DD78

Well-Known Fanatic
I just picked up a 9mm 5.25 XDM for competition, along with the Taran basepads.

I'm looking for a magwell that will work with those basepads, but not be too huge. My buddy recommended the Pistol Gear Operator magwell, but it looks like they're out of stock and I need to get something this week.

I see that both Dawson and Springer Precision make them, but not really sure which route would be better since I've never used a magwell before.

In order of priority of what I need it to do:

1. Work with the Taran base pads.

2. Not be overly huge, or barely larger than the stock pistol.

I'm going to use this for 3 gun and USPSA.

What does everyone recommend?

Thanks in advance!

Tradkiller

Fanatic
I am also wanting a mag well springer has only black in stock and I'm wanting the red I was wondering how long it would be before they are back in stock. Also I see most guys use the 5" or 5.25" model I have the 4.5 model is this going to be a problem and what is the difference in barrel length have to do with being on target thanks New Guy Mike

Matt1911

Cyrwus Jr.
For me, it's the feel of the pistol during recoil.
A 4" gun seems snappy, a 6" gun feels sluggish, but the 5" seems to be the butter zone for me.

gondo

Well-Known Fanatic
dawson ice hands down, ive had the springer and pistol gear but not even close to same fit and function

DD78

Well-Known Fanatic
I wound up getting the pistol gear operator on a recommendation from my gunsmith who also competes in USPSA and 3 gun.

I received it before I dropped my gun off by him to get it tuned up so I installed the magwell and noticed that fit-wise, it fits the frame securely, but when you look at the inside, it doesn't blend well with the inside of the frame unless you modify the guns' internal ramps inside the magwell to match the pistol gear. Not a huge deal by any means, but it's extra work.