Handguard length on a 16" barrel

Skogkat

Fanatic
Hi fellas,

I'm looking for input here from your collected experiences. I'm just getting into competitive shooting, and looking at getting a new handguard for my AR.

I'm pretty tall at 6'3", so my concern is that a 12" may be too short. If I'm running a 16" barrel, is a 15" handguard too long?

Wall

El Diablo
Staff member
15's not too long, just don't accidently grab out too far & get your hand near the comp

Skogkat

Fanatic
Yeah, and that's my concern actually as I want to put a Miculek on there. I guess one way or another it likely wouldn't be a mistake I'd repeat...

drmitchgibson

The white Morgan Freeman
I'm 6'1" and I have a 16" carbine with a standard 12" length rifle tube on it. It doesn't seem too short and handles well, but it's definitely not as comfortable as the 15" handguard on my rifle. I think arm length is the determining factor, not height, although the two generally go hand in hand. My arms are really long.

Wild Bill1

Well-Known Fanatic
Micah_Rowe said:
Did you know, if you stretch your arms out, parallel to the ground, measure from tip to tip of your middle fingers across your chest, that the length is equal to your height?

#jalapenorelish
#mindblown
#smart
The more you know....

Wall

El Diablo
Staff member
Yeah, and that's my concern actually as I want to put a Miculek on there. I guess one way or another it likely wouldn't be a mistake I'd repeat...
You can put a small rail segment at the end of the support side of the handguard to use as an index.
That should keep you from reaching out too far.

Matt1911

Cyrwus Jr.
Micah_Rowe said:
Did you know, if you stretch your arms out, parallel to the ground, measure from tip to tip of your middle fingers across your chest, that the length is equal to your height?
#jalapenorelish
#mindblown
#smart
We both listened to the same teacher in 3rd grade!!
#smat.... I mean smart

G Tinney

Well-Known Fanatic