Gunsmithing Tools

CECannonJr

Well-Known Fanatic
Fanatic Family
OK gentlemen, there's no way you're a 1911 Fanatic without doing a bit of smiffin yourself. I've enjoyed that side of it almost as much as all the other aspects of being an enthusiast. I've picked up skills that have enabled me to do a little work for others from time to time. As an Engineer, I have found that my natural inclination toward attention to detail and problem solving has been honed by doing this work.

So, now for the question. What tools do you have that you find to be invaluable?

Mike A1

Well-Known Fanatic
Fanatic Family
Wow CE that's a big question. :)

What do you want to know? Tools for maintaining or repairing, or custom work?
1911 tools like a stone to smooth trigger track is a great tool.
Small good quality hammer & punch set.

1000 & 1500 grit wet & dry black sandpaper a must for polishing surfaces.

Bead blaster & Parkerizing tanks are a great set to have.
The most important tool I own is my brain, tools are the way I express my will.

Knowing how the 1911 works is a must.

Watch these videos Our John Moses Browning was a Genius & the 1911 was just one of his masterpieces ;).

CECannonJr

Well-Known Fanatic
Fanatic Family
Training, not to take a back seat to tools.

I couldn't get those videos to load Mike. I have those things you mentioned. I'm curious about specific brands or sets. Is there something in particular that's unique or specialized? Is there a tool you may have made for a specific use? For instance, I made a jig for fitting a .250 radius grip safety that gets to within .002 inch for final fitting. I made it from 4140 steel and hardened it to 60 Rockwell so I can file material away without cutting the jig. It works great for me.