Broken Vortex

bradigby

Active Fanatic
I am new to scopes. I was having issues at the range this weekend with a Crossfire 2 scope that I settled for when strike eagles were hard to get. First thing, the zero was off (a foot right and 6 inches) but easily corrected. Then, the impact of the bullets would move a foot left and right when I changed the magnification between 1 and 4. I thought I was doing something wrong and threw it back in the bag for another day. When I got home I noticed the scope was bent. I looked through it and realized it wasn't bent that bad before.

My real question is, how reliable/tough are scoped ARs in general? I babied this thing (relative to non-scoped rifles I have been issued) and it failed on its 4th trip. I have had it less than year and only put about 200 rounds through it. I am disappointed but I also understand that I went cheap in case I didn't like it. Thoughts and comments are appreciated. I have worn out everyone at the office with gun talk.

Matt1911

Cyrwus Jr.
The Primary Arms 1-4 (also cheap) I used to have was tossed into barrels and dumped on tables multiple times over the 3 or so years of 3 gun matches I attended and I never had a problem with loss of zero and other than scratches, no real damage to the scope.

Send it to vortex and they'll make it right.

jtischauser

I'm addicted to kicking ass
If the scope tube is actually bent that took a pretty hard hit or something pretty heavy to bend it. I'd guess that's more accident then an issue with a cheap scope.

I've had several Chinese made Millet DMS and half of them eventually had some sort of issue. My strikeeagle had an issue after a year too. Heck I also had an issue with my $2500 Swarovski.

That's why it's best to buy that cheap Chinese stuff from Vortex because of their warranty.

jtischauser

I'm addicted to kicking ass
bradigby said:
This is it.