Appendix carry 1911

A**hole#1

Fanatic
So I have been carrying a Timberwolf (Glock 22 knockoff) appendix for about 6 years. But I have this bad ass 1911 I want to carry, and I am new to the firearm. OWB I carry 3 o' clock hammer back safety on. My question is what condition do you appendix carry your 1911 in, or do you at all? Meaning hammer cocked, safety on; half cocked; or uncocked. All of course with one in the chamber. Not looking for an argument, just some sage wisdom from those who are in the know. I would appreciate it. Thank ya'll in advance.

switchback

Well-Known Fanatic
Be impossible to avoid an argument on this one.

Condition 1 only and forever, the way the 1911 was and is meant to be carried.

Half-cock is not safe at all, and NOT a carry condition . Or a safety actually. Its ONLY purpose is to prevent an AD from hammer follow.

Round chambered and hammer down? Never and oh heck no. I suppose the half-cock would help prevent the inevitable slip of the hammer while being lowered. Maybe

I don't carry appendix, as it just isn't comfortable for me. Just can't imagine sitting could be comfortable.

All , my opinion, of course. But study the conditions of readiness, condition 1 is the only logical choice. With the possible exception of chamber empty, hammer down.

TXPlt

Well-Known Fanatic
Cocked and locked. As has been said this is the only way the gun was designed to be carried.

It's SAFE to carry the gun without round chambered and hammer down. It's NOT safe to carry it with a round chambered unless it's cocked and locked. But carry with no round in chamber has its own problems of getting the gun into action when it has to be fast, you're in a fight, and it might be one handed.

A**hole#1

Fanatic
Cocked and locked. As has been said this is the only way the gun was designed to be carried.