need help with cwp...PLEASE

turbotommy

New Fanatic
Hello everyone! I am new to the forum and to concealed carry and I need help.on 10/25 I went to purchase a handgun
so I could use it for a cwp class I was told my application was "delayed" and they would call me in a "few days" well so far no call.
So what should I do next? I am very confused I have checked the nics website but not sure if I should file a vaf ,take the cwp class with a
rented gun and hope sled processes my nics check or something else.I know I have none of the disqualifying conditions and I am a nurse
so I have to have a sled check for my job. So I am confused as to why my application was delayed and do not know how to clear it up.
I do have a very common name maybe that is one reason. HELPPPP :eek:
THANK YOU !
Tommy

throttleup

Active Fanatic
If your purchase was delayed they gave your dealer a date, usually 5 days hence. If your dealer does not hear from the FBI by then, you may pick up your gun. If it has been a week go right back to your dealer and finish your transaction. Of course there is a possibility that you were denied and the dealer never notified you. Go find out.

turbotommy

New Fanatic
Howdy all,well it has been a week since I applied so I called them about it and...............they have still heard nothing!
So I am still stuck and don't know what to do.If I take a cwp class and apply to sled will they give me a definite answer?
THANK YOU !
Tommy

94formulabird

Well-Known Fanatic
Just buy a gun private party...if you don't have any felonies it's not an issue...I've always walked away with a gun I wanted that day from a dealer...seems fishy to me

mark_b

Well-Known Fanatic
Your dealer does not know the law. According to the FBI website, they have 3 business days after a delay to deny. If after 3 days the dealer does not hear anything, then they can transfer to you.